Jury Duty

I had jury duty this week and really, if I have to compare it to anything, it really is like taking out the trash. No one enjoys doing it, but it must be done and sometimes you get to be the lucky one. Thankfully today I was not the lucky one, but it turned out it to be a miserably long day. I didn’t plan for going in first of all. I had no cash and I called in last night late. Mistake number one since I planned on taking the train there so I wouldn’t have to manuvere L.A. traffic. Mistake number two, forgetting all my snacks and water bottles in the car. I got there, starving because I didn’t eat yet (can’t eat for the first two hours of the day – just one of those quirks and remember I still had no cash because I gathered all my loose change and one dollar bill to pay for the train fare) and then tried going up eleven flights of stairs because I thought it would be brilliant. It actually turned out to be just me feeling nauseus from extremely low blood sugar. Mistake number three, bringing nothing interesting to read. I left the one book I was enjoying and almost finished with in the car while bringing three new books. I couldn’t start any of them. One was required too much thinking for a large group of people in too small of a room, and the other just had a protagonist/antagonist that I detested. The third one I had read before and was not really interested in now. So next time, hopefully in at least three years from now, I will be better prepared. The best thing about today is that it was the last courthouse I was called to before so I remember vaguely where everything was at – cafeteria, bathrooms, rules, etc; something comforting for an inconvenient and strange day.

Leave a comment